Local Development Plan Review

Overview and Timetable

 

Local Development Plan (LDP) Review / Replacement LDP (LDP2) 2021-2033

 

Why are we undertaking a Review?

The Authority adopted its Local Development Plan in February 2013.  After four years the Authority must review the Plan as a whole – this process commenced on 5th May 2017.  The purpose of review is to ensure that the LDP stays up-to-date.  Review provides the opportunity to make changes to the Plan, if these are required. 

The Authority is therefore now working on a Replacement Local Development Plan for Pembrokeshire.  It is anticipated that this Plan will be adopted in 2021 and will run until 2033.  This Plan will cover the area of Pembrokeshire, excluding the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority.

 

What have we done so far?

Between July and September 2018 we ran an informal consultation on Strategic Options for the Local Development Plan.  In July we held workshops with key stakeholders, members and town and community councils to discuss these options. 

Between December 2018 and February 2019 we ran a consultation on the Pre-Deposit Local Development Plan proposals including our Preferred Strategy.   

Work has also been undertaken on the Sustainability Appraisal and Strategic Environmental Assessment.  

The Habitats Regulations Appraisal (HRA) and the Equalities Impact Assessment have been undertaken and the Review Report has been updated and published for comment alongside the Preferred Strategy. 

The Candidate Sites Register has been published and provides an initial assessment of how sites submitted as residential or including residential within a range of mixed uses under the ‘Call for Sites’ have been considered by the Authority

 

Following the Preferred Strategy consultation, a report was prepared in the spring which included responses to comments made on the Preferred Strategy, Review Report and Sustainability Appraisal. Cabinet endorsed this report on the 6th April 2019, with changes to be made prior to the deposit plan consultation later in the year.

 

Following the consultation, the Rural Settlement report was updated following some changes to services and comments made during the Preferred Strategy consultation.

 

Any comments made on individual Candidate Sites will be considered during the Site assessment period between spring and autumn 2019.

 

What are we doing now?

The assessment of Candidate Sites will take place throughout early 2019, following the criteria set out in the Candidate Site Analysis Methodology. Proposers of Candidate Sites will find out whether or not their site has been included in the LDP2 when a full draft of the Plan is published (known as the Deposit Plan).  This is anticipated to take place in Autumn 2019.

The Authority is currently developing its evidence base for the Replacement Plan, which   includes background papers on Rural Facilities and Settlement Clusters.

This is anticipated to take place in Winter 2019, following council endorsement on the 12th December 2019.

 

What happens next?

Later stages will include:

 

Deposit

Preparation will start in April 2019, with the document expected to be published for formal consultation by October 2019.

Submission to Welsh Government

By July 2020 (indicative)

Examination

Between Autumn 2020 and Spring 2021 (indicative)

Publication of the Inspector’s Report

By Summer 2021 (indicative)

Adoption

By late Summer or Autumn 2021 (indicative)

 

How do I get Involved?

If you would like to be kept informed of progress on the preparation of LDP 2, please send an e-mail to ldp@pembrokeshire.gov.uk, with your name, address, telephone number, language preference (English or Welsh) and whether you prefer to be contacted by e-mail or post.  For those without an e-mail account, please telephone 01437-764551 and ask to be put through to the LDP team.

 

 

 

ID: 2539, revised 30/09/2019